top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

Complete review on the NIVEA Delicious Drop lip balms!

Hi Everyone!

Pusheen is not amused

It feels like it has been forever since I started up my blog! And, I haven't posted a dang blasted thing! Wow, I am so sorry!

I have been very busy with uni, AND my new job... so posts have been a bit slow in general. But, I was waiting for the precise moment to begin my blog posts and it has finally arrived. I was wanting to get the entire Nivea delicious drop lip balm line, as to this date, and review them as as my FIRST blog post!

So without further ado, let's get going!

Nivea Delicious Drop Lip Balms

← From Left to Right: Apple & Vanilla, Grapefruit & Mint, Peach & Vanilla, La France (Pear) & Vanilla and Strawberry & Chocolate flavour.

The first time I tried one of these lip balms was a few years ago when I ordered one of them off of eBay. The price, at the time, was pretty high (well for a lip balm) but I was willing to pay it and try it out. I had heard about these lip balms on Instagram way before they popped up on eBay. So I was pretty slow at getting one.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS ARE EVERYTHING:

The first one I bought was the Delicious Drop Peach & Vanilla flavour. And upon first use I was in love. The packaging has slightly changed since it's first release (which you can see the old packaging below).

Old Packaging Design for Delicious Drop
Old Packaging Design for Delicious Drop

The old packaging had a lot more attention grabbing qualities. Such as the cute tear drop area with vanilla ice cream in it. Who wouldn't want to buy one of these if they saw it on the shelf? The packaging is fantastic.

Now, I won't go without mentioning that these Nivea lip balms can ONLY be bought in Japan because they are specifically made for their market. I am unsure of the retail price in Japan and what they go for simply because I had to spend more to get them imported to me. Some areas in South Korea also carry these lip products and very minute spots in Californian Asian markets- other wise, you gotta go to Japan or order online through Amazon and eBay.

The back of the packaging on the older version of the balm.

I havent the slightest idea what the ingredients on these lip balms are in English, but I do know they all have some SPF in them.

The back of the packaging on the new version of the balm.

So, since I fell in love with the lip balm that I purchased I decided to make the effort to collect the rest of these lip balms in the line over time. Needless to say, it took longer than expected. The next lip balm I bought was the Strawberry and Chocolate, then I bought the Grapefruit & Mint and the La France & Vanilla both at the same time (super cheap, I might add) and just recently bought the Apple & Vanilla flavour.

FLAVOUR BREAKDOWN:

Peach & Vanilla - A sweet, vanilla, creamy peach pudding/peach ring candy scent)

La France (Pear) & Vanilla - An ambiguous pear scent with a slight vanilla - almost smells like green apple.

Apple & Vanilla - A crisp red apple scent, similar to a candied apple with light hints of cinnamon.

Grapefruit & Mint - An ambiguous citrus scent with a light spearmint undertone- reminiscent of lemon gummi bears.

Strawberry & Chocolate - Doesn't smell anything like the name. Smells like red wine?

For the most part, I am impressed with how each of them are portrayed. But I cannot get over how messed up the Strawberry Chocolate scent is. It boggles my mind how they missed the mark so much. It does not smell like strawberries and it does not smell like chocolate. It smells largely of alcohol. Perhaps I got a messed up lip balm? All I know is this lip balm has recently gotten discontinued and I can see why! All Beiersdorf Japan had to do was take the Fruity Shine Strawberry and ADD chocolate to it. There are plenty of chocolate scents on the market and I do not smell any chocolate in this. If there is strawberry, it has gone sour. Which reminds me of some dry red wine. Not my favourite.

The best one our of this line of five is definitely the Peach Vanilla. All the marks were hit, it smells like vanilla and it smells like peach rings. It also slightly reminds me of peach yogurt. Interesting. This lip balm has grown to be my new favourite lip balm of all time, especially after the discontinuation of Fruity Shine Dragon Fruit (R.I.P.) I have already used up one AND have FOUR back-ups of this lip balm (it's THAT good!) Every person I run into or speak to on the internet in regards to Nivea, I recommend it to!

La France Vanilla, to me, smells similar to green apple. I have noticed that a lot of Pear scents smell like green apple to me. Which bothers me. I love pears, they are one of my favourite fruits to eat. But why does this smell like green apple? It could have definitely been improved but, this lip balm was also discontinued.

Grapefruit Mint is one of the lip balms that managed to survive losing two of its brethren. Mostly because this is a good lip balm! It smells very good, like a lemon gummi bear. I have never had a yellow grapefruit so I am unsure of whether or not this lip balm smells like it but... good nonetheless. I'm just unable to quite pinpoint it. It is very citrusy with a minty twist. Slightly spearmint but not super strong. I'm not a fan of spearmint but this is tolerable. This lip balm also tingles the lips with the mint which is different from the others.

Lastly, Apple Vanilla really surprised me. The lip balm arrived at my door about a week ago and at first smell it smelled a lot like the Pear one. I thought, "Did this lip balm replace the pear one because the pear one smelled like apples?" But then I realized that the Apple Vanilla smells like apple pie, with slight hints of cinnamon and it is more of a red apple scent! Very interesting, good thing it isn't an extra Pear one! I recommend the apple over the pear.

Colours and lids of the balms.

↑ From Left to Right: Apple & Vanilla, Grapefruit & Mint, Peach & Vanilla, La France (Pear) & Vanilla and Strawberry & Chocolate flavour.

CONSISTENCY:

All of the lip balms have the same consistency. They each start out rather grainy but it isn't the type of grainy where you can constantly feel it on the lips (like glitter or shimmer). Eventually, with the heat of the lips, the grain melts down to become smoother. The lip balm is also not incredibly thick and depending on how thirsty your lips are it soaks in quite quickly. They are semi-glossy but don't wear like a lip gloss or like the Fruity Shine line.

Each lip balm has their own colour inside of the tube. The lip balm colour matches the outside colour of the container and they are all clear. None of them give off any sort of colour- therefore I believe these lip balms are suitable for all ages and genders.

DESIGN:

Like I have stated before, these lip balms are definitely eye catching. The lid, and lip balm shape is that of a tear drop 💧. Just like the name entails! Very cool. Unlike other Nivea lip balms, though, a hole can appear in the middle of the balm due to the turn up design of the tube (which I find annoying, but it doesn't take away from the lip balm!)

Newest Peach & Vanilla design

Each tube has their own fruit art on their tubes; Pears, Vanilla flowers, Peaches, Mint leaves, Yellow grapefruit, chocolate drizzle and strawberries! Super cute.

The new carded packaging is not nearly as eye catching as the original batch but it still would make me buy it if I saw it in stores at my local super market. How about you? 😊

PRICE:

As previously stated, I am unsure of the actual retail price of these lip balms in Japan. But I can give you a breakdown of approximately how much they cost me (or, will cost you) if you plan on buying any of these lip balms in store or online.

ON AMAZON:

• Each of these lip balms can price between $4.75-$7.00 USD

• If DISCONTINUED: $14.00-$24.00 USD (unfortunately...)

ON EBAY:

• Each of these lip balms can price between $5.00-$10.00 USD

Occasionally, eBay and Amazon users will list these lip products very cheap. And that is just a matter of stumbling upon them right when you search for them. One way you can always ensure the best pricing is to save the search (on eBay) and follow it AND turn on notifications for when new listings are posted under that criteria.

WHAT I PAYED:

• Peach & Vanilla: ~$7 USD AMAZON

• Apple & Vanilla: $5.79 USD AMAZON

• Strawberry & Chocolate: ~$5-$6 USD EBAY

• Grapefruit & Mint: $1.99 USD EBAY

• La France & Vanilla: $1.99 USD EBAY

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Overall, I believe these are a set of lip balms that everyone should try if given the chance. The scents, designs and feel of the lip balms are well worth the price. I did not buy all of mine at the same time, it took me quite awhile to get the set to review it. Are they worth the price? Yes! Are they worth spending $23 dollars on a discontinued one though? No. Don't do that, there reasons why they quit making them. I highly recommend you the Peach one (words can't describe how much I recommend it)- ESPECIALLY if you love peach lip products as much as me! I also recommend the apple, and the grapefruit mint.

For more information, and ingredients, please visit Nivea Japan's site HERE.

I hope you have a good day and enjoyed my first post. Be sure to subscribe to my blog AND FOLLOW ME ON INSTAGRAM, for future posts- trust me I have way more in store to review!

Princess Pitaya here!

DISCLAIMER! I do not sponsor Nivea. I was not sent these lip balms to review (although that would be awesome) I am merely a reviewer posting my experiences in hopes of clearing the air for those who wonder about these products. If you are a company, and are interested in me reviewing your lip balm products. Please CLICK my "E-MAIL" button on the left side bar and shoot me an email. Hey NIVEA, hit me up! Thank you for your time.

bottom of page